Sikh Missionary Society
Sikh Missionary Society U.K. (Regd)
10, Featherstone Road. Southall, Middx, U.K. UB2 5AA
Tel: +44 020 8574 1902
Fax: +44 020 8574 1912
Reg Charity No: 262404
The Guru's Way
The Guru's Way

Sikh Missionary Society: Publications: The Guru's Way:

The Sikh Guru's

The Sikh Guru's

The following are the names of the Sikh Gurus. The Gurus were ten in number. Out of respect for their Gurus the Sikhs add "Siri" before and "Ji" after the name of each Guru. This is their order of appearance:-
1. Siri Guru Nanak Dev Ji  1469 - 1539
2. Siri Guru Angad Dev Ji 1504 - 1552
3. Siri Guru Amar Das Ji 1479 - 1574
4. Siri Guru Ram Das Ji 1534 - 1581
5. Siri Guru Arjan Dev Ji 1563 - 1606
6. Siri Guru Hargobind Ji 1595 - 1644
7. Siri Guru Har Rai Ji 1630 - 1661
8. Siri Guru Har Krishan Ji 1655 - 1664
9. Siri Guru Tegh Bahadur Ji 1621 - 1675
10. Siri Guru Gobind Singh Ji 1666 - 1708

After the death of Guru Gobind Singh Ji, the Sikhs were asked to accept no other Guru except the Holy Book (The Granth). The Sikhs, therefore, call the Holy Book not simply the Granth, but 'Siri Guru Granth Sahib Ji.' The Sikhs bow to the Holy Book because it contains hymns in praise of God. They keep it with great care and wrap it in fine cloth.

"The best of all religions is, To remember God's Name and do good deeds."
"Truth is above everything; But higher still is truthful living."
"The world is on fire; Save it in thy mercy, O Lord."
(Siri Guru Granth Sahib Ji)
Previous Chapter - Guru Arjan's Teachings
Table of Contents
Return to the top of the page.

Copyright (©)2004 by Sikh Missionary Society (U.K.)
All Rights Reserved.